Matthew Madness

Uncategorized

The eastern Florida handle experienced it’s first hurricane in eleven years.

South Floridians remember 2005 as being as a very active year in hurricane season. My side of the tracks was curved by Katrina destruction. School was closed I remember. 8th grade turned into a terrible year already. Days off felt like heaven.

It’s like snow day for the sunshine state.

Hurricane Wilma was pretty memorable for being the last inland hurricane to strike S. Fl.

At the time I was living in my childhood home. My family was hunkered in. Not long after the power went out. We were in the dark for 4-5 days. The sound of a hurricane are of heavy winds howling. Maybe even a little Satanic.

The brunt of it is boredom.

2005 was a different period. Green Day played through my CD player since they were my favorite band. Dookie to American Idiot were on repeat. When night fell candles were lit. People were conversing and playing cards.

Since the entire neighborhood was virtually in the dark, you can hear the faintest of sounds such as the subtle footsteps of people walking outside.

While I tolerated killing time, I did not like being without AC. Florida is hot. Sans the necessary commodities sucks. In a October 27 diary entry, I mention being at peace without television and internet. It’s like a Ramadan fasting for technology.

Back then I didn’t even have a Myspace profile but I was pretty addicted to the internet already. IMDB.com and GreenDayAuthority.com were my go-to’s.

The eleven year streak sans a hurricane sounds impressive.

The psychology behind hurricane preparation is interesting.

People began preparing for Matthew steadfastly. I’m pretty lax as it gets. I sat on my couch right where I needed to be. Who needs shutters? I had been through this before with Wilma and turned out okay. Panic shopping seems rather pointless. All you need is water and nonperishable food. Keep flashlights and candles around just in case. You’re going to be indoors all day. Again the bulk brings boredom.

Empty shelves in supermarkets is a rarity.

Where you going with all that gas? No wonder stations ran empty fast. Prices inflated when resources became depleted.

Desperate times brings desperate measures.

I understand why some folks stayed home in the regions really headed for impact. People who’ve been through this before understand the extent, which all depends on the category taking shape. Being in the security of your home feels right even during a hurricane. Riding out the storm really isn’t a big deal. Evacuating is a last ditch effort if you’re truly desperate or naive.

Since Matthew was the size of Florida, I guess outsiders assumed the hurricane would crush the entire state. The storm being offshore served in my favor. Potentially heading for the mainland brought me some concern if it swerved left; however, my predictions were right all along: Matthew didn’t strike.

Drizzle that’s all.

The upper region is experiencing activity though. Jacksonville, Daytona Beach, St. Augustine. My thoughts are with them. Same for the Caribbean community as they face a lack of resources and poor infrastructure, along with a death toll in the hundreds.

In a way I wanted to experience living through a hurricane again. Mother force unfolding through maximum force is cool. You’re paying attention to something concrete and powerful. All your senses are alert. You might see objects flying midair, hear the objects striking cars, buildings, etc. When the damage is done and going outside is safe, you observe first hand the aftermath.

Mostly what I appreciate is the nation wishing for our safety. People checking in is sweet. My preparation involved downloading podcasts and clearing computer storage. My latest article was posted same day.

My hurricane narrative would sound way more interesting if Robert Kirkman took charge.

Preparation or panic takes stage. Really things depend on how people focus their time. I don’t hype up hysteria.

Only thing scarier is this election season.

Leave a Reply

